Nagaland represents magnificent beauty made by nature. Nagaland was formally introduced in the year of 1963 as the Indian Union’s 16th state. It is located in India extreme north east, surrounded on the north and west by Assam, on north by Arunachal Pradesh, on the east by Burma (Myanmar) and on the south by Manipur. It is one of the smallest states of India having an area of 16579 Kms 2 and population more than 1,988,000. The Naga Hills which have Saramati as the highest peak, run through Nagaland. The chief rivers which flow through this state include Doyang, Dikhu, Dhansiri, and Jhanji. The people of Nagaland, Nagas are deeply religious and fun loving following tradition of folklore, handicrafts, music and dance. The capital of Nagaland is Kohima. Nagaland has 15 main tribes is a land of verdant and lush forests and beautiful landscapes.

History of Nagaland

Nagaland’s ancient history is obscure. The territory of Naga remained divided between northeast frontier agency and Assam after the independence of India in the year of 1947. The Government of India set up a single administrative unit for Naga under the rule of India in 1957. In the year of 1960, the Government of India made Nagaland an India’s self governing state. Nagaland was inaugurated in the year of 1963. But still, Naga separatists kept on demanding autonomy and one administrative unit consisting of all the areas inhabited by Naga crossing some of the states of north east. After a long history of insurgency stemmed with ceasefire agreements and talks between central government and Naga rebels, at present, Nagaland is free from all the conflicts.

Get Updates & More

Thoughtful thoughts to your inbox